Log in

No account? Create an account

Previous Entry | Next Entry

Sooo, this is my other fanmix for scifibigbang . This one is for xahra99 's story "The Shadow of the Flame" a Dragon Age prequel story about Alistair. It's kind of heartbreaking and adorable at the same time. My mix is neither of those things I don't think. Seriously, to explain: when I make a mix, I go through my library and kind of throw a million things together in a playlist folder that I think work for the story. Then, I go through not so methodical process of eliminating things that don't really work until I kind of hit upon a 'sound' for the mix. I had a hard time with this one though -- because I had an idea but that idea wouldn't really take the form of songs I thought it should. So the songs seem a little mismatched upon finishing, but as a whole, the fit the story -- which is the goal in the end. Plus, there are remnants of the sound I was going for in the heavier songs, although the one I didn't include Pigface's Taiko drum song, or the Echo Game song from The House of Flying Daggers soundtrack (though Bamboo Forest is on there). Part of the way I finish a mix is by listening to the beginnings and endings of songs (sort of obsessively) to see how the thing fits together as a whole. Those other songs just didn't make the cut. The Bonus tracks: well, I have no real excuse for them, they just sort of demanded their way onto the list, and they fit.

Dude. I'm sorry. That's a long boring explanation to really tell you that this mix might look disjointed, but they fit the story...I promise.

I hope you like it. Also, enjoy my crazy flamey cover art.

PS. Her story isn't actually up at scifibigbang yet. But it was due today, and should be up soon, so I'm putting up my fanmix while I'm home and thinking about it.

The story is up at scifibigbang  here.

01 - Conjure One - Beyond Being
02 - Shigeru Umebayashi - Bamboo Forest
03 - RA - Sky
04 - José Gonzáles - Deadweight on Velveteen
05 - A Perfect Circle - The Noose
06 - Chevelle - I Get It
07 - Message to Bears - Pretend to Forget
08 - Dropping Daylight - Tell Me
09 - Azam Ali - Breton Medley
10 - Kevin Shields - Goodbye
11 - 30 Seconds to Mars - Echelon
12 - Murder by Death - Raw Deal
13 - Lisa Gerrard & Patrick Cassidy - Elegy

14 - Sixx A.M. - Dead Man's Ballet
15 - Pendulum - Propane Nightmares (Celldweller Remix)
16 - Funkadelic - Maggot Brain

Download the .zip (right click, save as)

As always, individual tracks are available if you want. Just let me know. Enjoy!


( 2 felicitations — Felicitate Me )
Sep. 16th, 2010 04:18 pm (UTC)
This looks really neat! I love the font on the back cover.
Sep. 16th, 2010 04:27 pm (UTC)
I'm pretty sure that font is called "Same Sex Marriage". One of the many reasons I like it.
( 2 felicitations — Felicitate Me )